DIY Popsicle Stick Coaster

hey

I thought I’d start the week off with a bit of DIY! Many people don’t know this about me but I actually drink quite a lot of tea (I don’t know why I made that sound like it was some sort of secret, intriguing fact about me. It’s really not). Especially when I’m blogging, I like to have a cup sitting on my desk beside me while I type. That being said, I very rarely have a coaster at hand and as a result have ruined many a table (OK actually I’ve only ruined one table – my own, repeatedly, and to be honest it was already pretty ugly in the first place).

Instead of going out and buying a coaster I decided to DIY one instead.  I have to say I’m really happy with the end result; it’s colourful, trendy and unique! You can either buy a pack of popsicle sticks or use this as an excuse to buy a large pack of ice lollies, which is undoubtedly the better option ;).

Make sure to like this post if you want to see more DIYs like this one and comment down below letting me know what your favorite kind of hot drink is. Are you a coffee kind of person? A hot chocolate lover? A herbal tea drinker like me? And I know you’re probably wondering why I’m going on about hot drinks in the middle of summer but just remember that I live in Ireland and I’m currently wearing a jumper in July.

Anyway, enough rambling. I hope you all have a lovely week, now let’s get into the tutorial…

What you need

coaster 2

17 popsicle sticks (this might vary depending on how big you want your coaster to be/ the size of your popsicle sticks. I used a few small popsicle sticks for the base because I ran out of big ones, but honestly it doesn’t really matter)

Paints in the colours of your choice (my popsicle sticks were already dyed, so I just used a bit of gold paint to add some decoration)

Paintbrush

Glue gun

Steps

 

1. Paint your popsicle sticks and leave them to dry.

2. Next take 10 popsicle sticks and glue them together in pairs (see photo). These will act as the base of the coaster and give it some height.

 

3. Glue the remaining 7 popsicle sticks  on top of one of the popsicle stick pairs that you glued together before.

4. Glue the rest of the popsicle stick pairs onto the  base of the coaster.

5. Leave to dry and you’re done!

signature

30 comments

  1. dreamymichaela · July 25

    Hi Maya! A super colourful and useful idea – thanks! And my fave hot drink is herbal tea – of all kinds of varieties! Hot and cooled down. 🙂 And I will indulge in occasional cups of coffee and hot chocolate, depending on the occasion. 🙂

    Like

  2. edgeofordinary · July 24

    This is absolutely perfect for my parents! My dad loves drinking tea every morning. Whenever friends come over they always will have a cup of hot tea or a hot drink pressed in their hands! 🙂

    Like

    • maya · July 27

      It sounds like the perfect gift! And the great thing is, you can really customise them for each person using different colours etc. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: DIY Popsicle Stick Coaster | Gahatto Edge Design
  4. madebydemi · July 7

    what a fantastic idea!!!

    Like

  5. thevintageheart · July 6

    If it’s morning…my favorite drink is coffee with sugar and hazelnut creamer. If it’s raining outside, it’s hot tea. If it’s cold/snowy/winter/Christmas, it’s hot chocolate. 🙂 This is a cool idea. Love it!

    Like

    • maya · July 8

      Thanks 🙂 Maybe I drink so much hot tea because it’s always raining outside in Ireland!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. theherdlesswitch · July 6

    Like this, nice little splash of color!
    My favorite drink is coffee, but it doesn’t like me as much as I like it : (

    Meno

    Like

  7. gahattoedgedesign · July 6

    Awesome idea and suggestion I may have to try this with my nieces love a cup of herbal tea.

    Like

  8. This is so cute and unique! I may have to try this sometime. My answer to my favorite type of drink is hot chocolate. I love it in the winter time. c:

    Like

  9. Jo Smith · July 5

    Love this diy!

    Like

  10. notesbynani · July 5

    Omg, love this!! So cute!

    Like

  11. Trixie's DIY Tips · July 5

    Looks great 🙂

    Like

  12. mylifeasishan · July 4

    Great DIY

    Like

    • maya · July 5

      Thank you 🙂

      Like

  13. norma · July 4

    Great idea!

    Like

  14. SkyePurls · July 4

    Great idea. I am also an herbal tea drinker. I have several cups per day. And I make sun tea on the rare days it gets really hot here in Portland.

    Like

  15. TrainOfThought · July 4

    oooh, this is so cuuute and colourful! I LOVE it. And I’m more of hot chocolate fan, but I do love some tea from time to time! This is perfect!!!! Thanks so much for shaaaring!

    Like

    • maya · July 4

      You’re welcome!! Glad you liked it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Elm · July 4

    Oooh this sounds awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

